Hanover VA Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
Underage Possession of Alcohol in Hanover County is not taken lightly, and in some cases can lead to a jail sentence. The Code of Virginia criminalizes the possession, purchase, or consumption of any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer by those under the age of 21. In fact, underage possession of alcohol is a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense, which in Virginia, is the same type of criminal misdemeanor as a DUI.
A conviction for underage possession of alcohol is punishable as follows:
Maximum 12 months in jail
Maximum $2,500 fine
50 hours of community service
- Alcohol Education and/or Treatment
- Random Testing
Loss of driving privileges
Permanent criminal record
Underage Alcohol Possession is a Criminal Offense
Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law is an established local law firm that defends alcohol cases every week in the Hanover Courts and can help you understand the allegation and the possible penalties you are facing. We examine the facts and circumstances of your case and explain your defenses and what the prosecution is required to prove. In some instances, the arrest may have either been unlawful or law enforcement may have violated the Fourth Amendment to the Constitution against unreasonable searches and seizures. Our attorneys will analyze whether the police had a reasonable suspicion to stop you, whether any warrant was supported by probable cause, and whether any other violations may have tainted the seizure of evidence the prosecution will attempt to use against you at trial. In many cases, you can prevail on a number of defense objections or motions, even if you think you are guilty.
Hanover County Possession of Alcohol Attorney Client Review
Hanover County Underage Possession of Alcohol Nolle Prosqui
Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law represented a client who was arrested near the college campus of Randolph-Macon in Ashland VA for Drunk in Public & Underage Possession of Alcohol in violation of Va. Code sections 18.2-388 & 4.1-305, respectively. Believe it or not, underage possession of alcohol is a much more serious offense than being drunk in public. Public intoxication is only punishable by a maximum fine of $250.
Underage alcohol possession is a class 1 misdemeanor and carries the harsh penalties as listed above. Riley & Wells attorneys reviewed the client’s case and discussed his goals and objectives. We were able to resolve his case in a manner that best protected him, which resulted in the more serious allegation being dropped and only subjected him to a relatively minor fine.
Related Alcohol Possession Offenses Hanover County VA
Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia is the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act. Chapter 3 of this act classifies various criminal offenses involving alcohol and minors. In some cases, the best option may be to plea your case with the Court and/or the prosecutor depending on the strength of the Commonwealth’s case and the unique circumstances of the needs of the client. This can only be realistically accomplished with the assistance of an accomplished Hanover County Alcohol Possession Lawyer. Do not give up hope and protect your rights by contacting us today for a free no obligation initial consultation.
Let us review YOUR case. We can help!
11/10/2015 | Updated 2/22/2020