Experienced Powhatan County VA DUI Lawyer | Best DWI Defense

A Best Law Firm for Virginia Criminal Law and Traffic Defense Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law is a Top-rated local Powhatan County law firm with over 60 years of collective DUI law experience. Our firm has been recognized as a “Best Law Firm” by U.S. News & World Report. Our skilled and experienced Powhatan County VA DUI Lawyers are dedicated to representing the best interests of clients. We use every resource the law allows to best protect our clients. NOTE: A DUI arrest is NOT a DUI conviction. We are committed to investigating and preparing each case to ensure that the best defense is presented.

Top Rated Powhatan DUI Attorney Client Review

Very professional law firm. In my case, Riley & Wells provided me with the representation and guidance that led to a complete dismissal. I highly recommend Riley & Wells should you need representation with driving or criminal matters.
js_loader

Driving Under The Influence Defense Specialists

Powhatan County VA DUI DWI AttorneyOur Powhatan County DUI defense attorneys are either members of or have been recognized by various prominent national organizations such as the National College for DUI Defense and the National Advocacy for DUI Defense. It is our experience that clients benefit when their attorney specializes in a particular of law. We understand that an arrest for drunk driving can be an embarrassing and devastating event. Our role is to assist you with successfully navigating an often difficult landscape, not lecture you about decisions you made leading up to the arrest. The simple fact is you are in trouble with the law and need a non-judgmental advocate to give you straightforward legal advice and quality representation.

Effective Powhatan County VA DUI Lawyer

Effective Powhatan County VA DUI LawyerVirginia DUI law is complex. And the penalties can be harsh. In fact, Virginia has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country according to a study by WalletHubIf you have been arrested for DUI in Powhatan County, then you need to retain the best Powhatan County DUI lawyer possible. Our attorneys are specially trained and possess extensive experience. We can help. Let us review your case!

Virginia DUI Breath Testing

Powhatan County VA DUI Breath TestVirginia DUI law according to Va. Code Section 18.2-266 criminalizes the operation of a motor vehicle if a chemical test proves the driver possesses a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more at the time of driving. It is also a violation of the DUI law for a motorist to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of illegal drugs or prescription medication. Breath Test evidence is significant to the prosecution’s DUI case but it is not required. In some cases, there is no blood test or breath test evidence. Allow us to review your case!

Law Enforcement DUI Investigation Field Sobriety Testing

Best Powhatan County VA DUI LawyersIf a Powhatan County Deputy Sheriff or State Trooper stops a motorist for a traffic violation and suspects that the motorist may be intoxicated, then the police officer will transition the traffic stop into a DUI investigation. Every motorist who becomes the target of a Powhatan County DUI investigation will typically be asked to perform field sobriety exercises. These exercises or tests are completely VOLUNTARY.  A motorist is never required to perform any field sobriety exercise. NOTE: There is almost no scenario where a motorist should perform these tests

Drunk Driving is Aggressively Enforced in Powhatan County

Top Rated Defense Attorney for Powhatan County VA Drunk Driving CasesThe drunk driving laws are aggressively enforced by Powhatan Deputies and Virginia State Troopers. The state troopers usually patrol Route 288 and Powhatan Deputies typically focus their patrols on major routes such as Route 60/Anderson Highway, Route 522/Maidens Road & Route 711/Huguenot Trial. Both law enforcement agencies will frequently hold sobriety checkpoints and typically use the same protocol to investigate a DUI case, which will often include attempts to gather evidence from field sobriety testing and breath testing.

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol Penalties

  • Possible incarceration
  • Ignition Interlock
  • Suspension or Revocation of Driving Privileges
  • Expensive fines
  • Probation
  • DUI education courses such as VASAP
  • Significant cost increases to or loss of automobile insurance
  • Loss of employment or employment opportunities

Virginia DUI Penalties (⇓DMV DUI Brochure⇓)

Conviction for DUI first offense  Mandatory, minimum $250 fine  Driver’s license revocation for one year Conviction for DUI second offense  Mandatory, minimum $500 fine  Driver’s license revocation for three years  Possible jail term up to one year Conviction for DUI second offense within ten years of prior offense carries the following additional penalty  Mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term Conviction for DUI second offense within five years of prior offense carries the following additional penalty  Mandatory, minimum 20-day jail term Three DUI convictions within a ten-year period  Mandatory, indefinite driver’s license revocation  If your driving privilege is revoked for a first or second DUI offense conviction and you receive another DUI, the license revocation period will run consecutively with the existing revocation period. Conviction for DUI third offense or DWI felony  Mandatory, minimum $1,000 fine  Mandatory indefinite driver’s license revocation  Prosecution as a Class 6 felony Conviction for DUI third offense within five years carries the following additional penalty  Mandatory, minimum six-month jail term Conviction for DUI third offense within ten years carries the following additional penalty  Mandatory, minimum 90-day jail term  Permanent forfeiture of your vehicle (if you are the sole owner) Conviction for DUI fourth or subsequent offense  Mandatory, minimum one-year jail term BAC of 0.15% and not higher than 0.20% at the time of arrest  First offense carries a mandatory, minimum five-day jail term in addition to all other penalties  Second offense within ten years carries a mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term in addition to all other penalties BAC of 0.20% or higher at the time of arrest  First offense carries a mandatory, minimum ten-day jail term in addition to all other penalties

Let us review YOUR case. We can help!

8/13/2023

Powhatan Criminal Law << Previous <       > Next >> Powhatan Traffic Law