Chesterfield VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Attorney
The Chesterfield County Police Department has a no-tolerance policy in place for underage drinking and to those who supply alcohol to minors. There are several laws that apply to underage drinking and supplying alcohol to minors. In some cases, underage alcohol possession or sales can lead to a jail sentence. Chesterfield County Police, Virginia Union University, Virginia State Police and Virginia ABC Agents all aggressively enforce this law. If you have been arrested or cited for underage possession alcohol, or any other alcohol law violation in Chesterfield VA, then you need a Virginia Super Lawyer. The Code of Virginia criminalizes the possession, purchase, or consumption of any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer by those under the age of 21. In fact, underage possession of alcohol is a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense, which, in Virginia, is the same type of criminal misdemeanor as a DUI. A conviction for underage possession of alcohol is punishable as follows:
- Maximum 12 months in jail
- Maximum $2,500 fine
- 50 hours of community service
- Alcohol Education and/or Treatment
- Random Testing
- Loss of driving privileges
- Permanent criminal record
Alcohol Violation Attorney Chesterfield VA
Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law are the Chesterfield VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Attorneys that can help you understand the allegation you are facing, the possible defenses of your case, and the consequences of a conviction. We examine the facts and circumstances surrounding your arrest, whether the police violated the Fourth Amendment, whether the police had a reasonable suspicion to stop you, whether any warrant was supported by probable cause, and whether any other violations may have tainted the seizure of evidence the prosecution will attempt to use against you at trial. In many cases, you can prevail on a number of defense objections or motions, even if you think you are guilty.
Chesterfield VA Underage Alcohol Attorney Client Reviews
Driving After Illegally Consuming Alcohol
Driving a motor vehicle by persons under the age of 21 after illegally consuming alcohol is a criminal offense. This violation is often referred to as a baby DUI when the driver under the age of 21 has a blood alcohol level of 0.02 but less than 0.08. The DUI law criminalizes operation of a motor vehicle in cases of blood alcohol evidence of 0.08 or higher. A person weighing 120 pounds can reach a .02 percent blood-alcohol level after having one drink in one hour, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. The penalties for a very similar to a DUI, thus it is important to retain a skilled Richmond VA area attorney to defend such alcohol allegations.
Possession of False Identification
Possession of a fake ID is not an alcohol violation; however, in many instances young offenders in violation of Virginia’s alcohol laws is also in possession of a fake or fraudulent identification. As such, the accused may be facing two criminal charges for underage possession of alcohol and possession of a false identification. Virginia Code 18.2-204.2 makes it is illegal for any person to possess a fictitious driver’s license or other official identity card. A violation is punishable as a Class 2 (criminal) misdemeanor, and upon conviction, is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and / or a $1,000 fine. A conviction would also give the defendant a permanent criminal record because convictions cannot be expunged in Virginia.
Successful Chesterfield Underage Possession of Alcohol Representation
Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law regularly represent clients in Chesterfield County for various alcohol related offenses such as Underage Possession of Alcohol pursuant to Va. Code 4.1-305. If your allegation is either a first offense, a subsequent offense, or some other alcohol related offense, then you need skilled representation. Do not attempt to defend your criminal case without representation.
Our attorneys thoroughly and completely analyze each of our client’s cases. In some instances, there is a basis to challenge the police detention, and in some other cases, there is a fourth amendment argument to suppress any alcohol evidence that was seized by law enforcement. Either way, only a professionally trained Chesterfield Criminal Defense Attorney can protect your interests.
In some cases, the best option may be to plea your case with the Court and/or the prosecutor depending on the strength of the Commonwealth’s case and the unique circumstances of the needs of the client. This can only be realistically accomplished with the assistance of an accomplished Chesterfield Alcohol Possession Defense Lawyer. Do not give up hope and protect your rights.
Contact us today for a free evaluation of YOUR case!
By Mitch Wells 11/10/2015 | Updated 3/28/2018