Underage Possession of Alcohol Virginia Lawyer
Underage possession of alcohol is a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense, the same type of criminal misdemeanor as a DUI. Underage Possession of Alcohol in Virginia is not taken lightly. Some cases can lead to a jail sentence. The Code of Virginia criminalizes the possession, purchase, or consumption of any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer by those under the age of 21. Our attorneys can help you navigate the criminal justice process to ensure that you are protected.
NOTE: An allegation is NOT a conviction
Experienced Criminal Defense Attorneys Defending Underage Alcohol
Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law is an established local Richmond VA Metropolitan Area law firm. Our lawyers possess over 45 years of criminal law experience. We defend clients every week accused of underage possession of alcohol. Our attorneys can help you understand the allegation you are facing and the possible defenses. We examine the facts and circumstances surrounding your arrest. In many cases, you can prevail on a number of defense objections or motions, even if you think you are guilty.
Underage Possession of Alcohol Attorney Client Review
Penalties for Underage Possession of Alcohol Cases
- Maximum 12 months in jail
- Permanent criminal record
- Maximum $2,500 fine
- Community service
- Alcohol treatment
- Random testing
- Loss of driving privileges
- Employment/Education issues
Experienced Trial Lawyers Successfully Defend Illegal Alcohol Allegations
Va. Code 4.1-305 criminalizes the possession, consumption, purchase or attempt to consume, purchase, possess alcohol if under the age of 21. “Possession” can either be actual or constructive. Any statements you make about your age or the alcohol in question can be used against you at trial. Police officers may ask you to blow into a preliminary breath test. It is important to understand that you are not required by law to answer questions. You are also not required to provide breath samples for testing.
An Arrest or Summons For Illegal Alcohol is NOT a Conviction
Virginia law criminalizes recent consumption of alcohol by a minor. A police officer’s gathering of evidence of recent alcohol consumption such as slurred speech or an odor of alcohol along with an admission can be sufficient evidence to prove a violation. The police do not have to actually recover alcohol for the prosecution to prove a violation. Do not give up hope and protect your rights by contacting us today for a free initial consultation.
Richmond Underage Alcohol Possession DISMISSED
Our Underage Possession of Alcohol Attorneys represented a University of Richmond student who was arrested for underage possession of alcohol and possession of False Identification by an undercover ABC Special Agent. Both offenses are criminal misdemeanors and are punishable by a term of incarceration, loss of driving privileges and a significant fine. The client and parents were very concerned about this incident. The arrest took place at a downtown Richmond VA local nightclub popular with many college students. The client’s main concern was to not have a permanent criminal record.
False Identification Fake ID Case DISMISSED
Possession of false identification is common in underage of alcohol cases. Our attorneys gathered all of the necessary information regarding the arrest and conducted the necessary legal research as it applied to our client’s case so that we would be prepared for trial. Based on the facts of our client’s case, our arguments and our representation, we were able to favorably resolve both misdemeanor allegations with no jail sentence, no loss of driving privileges, and perhaps most importantly, no permanent criminal record.
Contact Us today for an evaluation of YOUR case!
11/10/2015 | Updated 1/22/2022