Henrico VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Attorney
Underage Possession of Alcohol in Henrico County is not taken lightly, and in some cases can lead to a jail sentence. Henrico County Police, University of Richmond Police and Virginia ABC Agents aggressively enforce this law. If you have been arrested or cited for underage possession of alcohol in Henrico VA, then you need a Virginia Super Lawyer. The Code of Virginia criminalizes the possession, purchase, or consumption of any alcoholic beverage such as liquor, wine, and beer by those under the age of 21. In fact, underage possession of alcohol is a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense, which, in Virginia, is the same type of criminal misdemeanor as a DUI. A conviction for underage possession of alcohol is punishable as follows:
- Maximum 12 months in jail
- Maximum $2,500 fine
- 50 hours of community service
- Alcohol Education and/or Treatment
- Random Testing
- Loss of driving privileges
- Permanent criminal record
Underage Possession of Alcohol is a Criminal Offense
Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law are the Henrico VA Underage Possession of Alcohol Attorneys that can help you understand the allegation you are facing, the possible defenses of your case, and the consequences of a conviction. We examine the facts and circumstances surrounding your arrest, whether the police violated the Fourth Amendment, whether the police had a reasonable suspicion to stop you, whether any warrant was supported by probable cause, and whether any other violations may have tainted the seizure of evidence the prosecution will attempt to use against you at trial. In many cases, you can prevail on a number of defense objections or motions, even if you think you are guilty.
Henrico VA Underage Alcohol Lawyer Client Reviews
Henrico County Underage Possession of Alcohol Cases DISMISSED
Riley & Wells Attorneys-At-Law regularly represent clients in Henrico County and University of Richmond Students for various alcohol related offenses such as Underage Possession of Alcohol pursuant to Va. Code 4.1-305. If your allegation is either a first offense, a subsequent offense, or some other alcohol related offense, then you need skilled representation. Do not attempt to defend your criminal case without representation. Our attorneys thoroughly and completely analyze each of our client’s cases. In some instances, there is a basis to challenge the police detention, and in some other cases, there is a fourth amendment argument to suppress any alcohol evidence that was seized by law enforcement. Either way, only a professionally trained Henrico Criminal Defense Attorney can protect your interests.
Related Alcohol Possession Offenses Henrico County VA
Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia is the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act. Chapter 3 of this act classifies various criminal offenses involving alcohol and minors. Henrico County has a ZERO TOLERANCE policy when it comes to underage drinking offenses. In some cases, the best option may be to plea your case with the Court and/or the prosecutor depending on the strength of the Commonwealth’s case and the unique circumstances of the needs of the client. This can only be realistically accomplished with the assistance of an accomplished Henrico Alcohol Possession Defense Lawyer. Do not give up hope and protect your rights.
Contact us today for a free evaluation of YOUR case!
By Mitch Wells 11/10/2015 | Updated 4/30/2018